Waffles!

If I had to pick a favorite food it would be waffles. I have been looking at different waffle recipes to see what I can come up with. I’m still in the process but my favorite waffle so far is the Bisquick recipe. It is super easy and makes a great waffle.

2 cups Bisquick
1 1/3 cup milk
1 egg
2 T oil

I couple of years ago I picked up a Mennonite cookbook when my husband and I visited a Mennonite community in Tennessee. In the cookbook it had a tip about making a lighter tasting waffle by whipping your egg white to stiff peaks. So to test it out, I used this recipe.

1 cup Bisquick
2/3 cup milk
1 egg separated
2 T oil

1. Separate egg
2. Mix together Bisquick, milk, egg yolk and oil
3. Beat egg white to stiff peaks (egg white should stand up when you pull the beater blades upward)
4. Fold egg whites into waffle batter
5. Pour batter into waffle iron. Waffles are done after steam is gone (2-5 mins)

These waffles were excellent! Sometimes waffles can feel really heavy but this were nice and light.

My next step is too look for a Spiced Waffle Recipe. I tried this recipe but I wasn’t impressed. I did like adding butter to the mixture instead of oil. It gave it a richer flavor. So I guess I will keep looking.

I also tried a traditional waffle recipe from the BHG New Cook Book 14th edition but it was way too sweet. I have another waffle recipe that has some slight variations from an older edition. I am going to try that one next weekend. I will let you know how it turned out.

After you have cooked you waffles try adding a struel topping to your waffle. Then add Maple syrup. I know it is decadent but it is so good!

Leave a Reply

