Pumpkin Pancakes or Waffles

I tried two recipes made with pumpkin and the pancakes won which is a surprise for me because I usually prefer waffles over pancakes.  I used fresh pumpkin instead of canned. I also added a little bit to each recipe because I don’t have syrup with my waffles or pancakes so I make them a little bit sweeter but not too much. Even after chaning the waffle recipe I still didn’t feel like the waffles cooked all the way even though the outside was close to burnt. I cut my recipe in half but here is the original recipe for pancakes and waffles. I have only included the pancake recipe with noted variations.

Pumpkin Pancakes

Pumpkin Pancakes with Orange Syrup

Ingredients
1 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoons brown sugar
1/2 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice (I used 1/4 t cinnamon, 1/4 ginger, 1/4 all spice and 1/8 nutmeg)
3/4 cups fat-free milk
1/2 cup canned pumpkin
1 egg
1 tablespoons cooking oil
Nonstick cooking spray
Directions
1. In a medium bowl stir together the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, salt, and pumpkin pie spice. Make a well in the center of flour mixture.
2. In another medium bowl combine the milk, pumpkin, egg product, and oil. Add the milk mixture all at once to flour mixture. Stir just until moistened (batter should be lumpy).
3. Lightly coat a nonstick griddle or heavy skillet with cooking spray. Heat over medium heat. For each pancake, pour about 1/4 cup batter onto the hot griddle or skillet. Cook over medium heat about 2 minutes or until pancakes have bubbly surfaces and edges are slightly dry. Turn pancakes; cook about 2 minutes more or until golden brown. Serve warm with Orange Syrup and, if desired, orange sections. Makes 8 servings.
I changed it a bit by adding more cinnamon (about 1/2 t) and 1/2 t of sugar. I also added 1/4 t of vanilla. Lastly I added 1/4-1/2 milk to the batter because it was too thick. This may have been a product of using fresh pumpkin because canned pumpkin tends to be watery.

$(“.instructions p”).each(function() { if ($(this).text().match( /^\d+\.$/ ) == null) { $(this).addClass(“textInstruction”); } });

$(“.instructions p”).each(function() { if ($(this).text().match( /^\d+\.$/ ) == null) { $(this).addClass(“textInstruction”); } });
Leave a Reply

